2022 Election: And then there were Fourteen

Six more seats of the House of Representatives for the incoming 118th United States Congress have been decided. Republicans now hold a 217-204 edge, meaning they are just one seat away from claiming a majority. But the opposition party always does well in the first midterm election after a new President. Combined with the five seats that Republican state legislatures c̶h̶e̶a̶t̶e̶d̶ gerrymandered, the fact that we’re even still talking about “Democrats might theoretically get a majority” shows what a disappointing night it was for Republicans.

Updated map – as always, click for a larger view:

The current state of the House of Representatives, with 20 seats undecided.
Red = Republican
Blue = Democratic
White = party undecided
Click for a full-size version.

Results we now know:

Arizona-1: Republican incumbent David Schweikert

Arizona-6: Republican Juan Ciscomani

California-41: Republican incumbent Ken Calvert

California-45: Republican incumbent Michelle Steel

New York-22: Republican Brandon Williams

Oregon-6: Democratic Andrea Salinas

Still undecided:

Alaska at large: the entire state

California-3: the rural Sierra Nevada mountains and the northeastern suburbs of Sacramento, including Roseville

California-6: the northern half of the city of Sacramento, and parts of Arden-Arcade and Rancho Cordova

California-9: Stockton and surrounding areas of San Joaquin County

California-13: Merced and surrounding areas

California-21: Fresno and the southern San Joaquin Valley

California-22: The eastern half of Bakersfield and rural areas to the north

California-27: Northern Los Angeles County, including Lancaster, Palmdale, Glendora, and Pasadena

California-34: The eastern part of the city of Los Angeles

California-47: Long Beach and coastal Orange County

California-49: Oceanside and San Juan Capistrano

Colorado-3: Pueblo, Grand Junction, and the rural western third of the state

Colorado-8: Northeast of Denver

Maine-2: Mostly-rural northern and eastern Maine

As results are announced in these 14 districts, I’ll update the non-misleading map accordingly.

Leave a Reply